Miyamoto doesn’t do Greek. Nintard tears.

I really shouldn’t touch this, but it’s too hilarious.

So for what will be one of the most retarded games Nintendo will ever release, we’ve got fans that requested that gay marriage be a feature in the game. And Nintendo… basically said they didn’t want to make the game for social commentary. And… a “Marini” is offended by this.

“I want to be able to marry my real-life fiancé’s Mii, but I can’t do that,” Marini said in a video posted online that attracted the attention of gaming blogs and online forums this week. “My only options are to marry some female Mii, to change the gender of either my Mii or my fiancé’s Mii or to completely avoid marriage altogether and miss out on the exclusive content that comes with it.”

More and more, I’m tempted to use the phrase “it’s just a game” even though I piss and moan about a lot of games.

I give Nintendo a lot of shit, but they’ve done nothing wrong in this context. The implications of this “story” would paint a more fucked up picture of the company than usual. Knowing how crazy white folks are, Nintendo is probably going to be labeled as a company that is “against” gays or gay marriage in general (considering gay marriage is illegal in Japan as ABC points out). The only thing they’ve done wrong was create this piece of shit game. Putting in Gay Marriage isn’t an issue, the game is gay enough as it is. But Nintendo always pusses out on controversial material, I doubt they’ll budge unless there’s money to lose from it. I’m not sure how implementing gay marriage as a “feature” is social commentary, but w/e the case, I’m predicting Nintendo will come under fire for shit like this. By the end of this decade, it will be considered a hate crime NOT to be inclusive to gay people. Mark my words.

Young people need standards and stop tolerating everything. That’s all I’m gonna say on it.

 

